RSS

Overcome So You Are Not Overcome

18 Jan

As Christians, we have the unique privilege of overcoming all things this world, sin, and the devil throw our way.  We need to be people who choose to overcome the things of this world so we can bring others into that same victory in Jesus and not be victims of this world.  Overcoming and faith go hand in hand.  We need to walk by faith, in order to be the kind of people who overcome.  1 John 5:4 says: “Whatever is born of God overcomes the world.  And this is the victory that has overcome the world – our faith.”  It is our faith in Jesus Christ which enables us to overcome this world.

If we remain people who are tossed to and fro based upon the circumstances of life, we must conclude we are not living in faith because faith is victory, and faith victory has overcome the world.  Before anyone gets guilt ridden or feels inadequate about their faith as a result of hearing this, let us remember our faith is a gift from God.  He has given each of us a measure of faith.  Romans 12:3 says “For I say, through the grace given to me, to everyone who is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think soberly, as God has dealt to each one a measure of faith.”  The point to be made is that if we are being tossed to and fro, and if we are not experiencing victory to overcome the world, we need look no further than our faith in Jesus. We can press in with God and His Word, refocus our attention, give our honor and praise to Him, and find ourselves exercising our God-given faith which will enable us to find ourselves IN Jesus once again.  Our faith in Jesus overcomes the world. 

There is a simple way to determine if we are among those who overcome and it is found 1 John 5:5  “Who is he who overcomes the world, but he who believes that Jesus is the Son of God?”  Many people “say” they believe in Jesus Christ, in fact even Satan believes Jesus is the Son of God.  In a “Facebook” comment one lady remarked to some others witnessing the love of Jesus to her, “Wish you would stop trying to stuff Jesus and God down other people’s throats.  It is f……sickening, a lot of us believe but do not need to go to church with a bunch of hypocrites to have that belief so just go away.”  Does that sound like someone who believes in the greatest news on earth? 

You see, believing is far more than simply acknowledging we know “of” Jesus.  Satan acknowledges Who God is but will not accept the dominion of Jesus Christ.  Many people do the same thing.  They acknowledge who God is but do not submit to His Lordship in their lives.  Therefore, simply “believing” in the basic essence of the word, is not what God is talking about here.  “Believing” is the acceptance of everything about Jesus, acknowledging Him as God, as the only One who overcame the world, death, and the devil.  Truly believing is “a knowing” at the seat of our desires, feelings, affections, passions, and impulses, that Jesus is the Son of God.  Believing takes place in our hearts not just our minds.  And it means accepting Him as Lord over our lives and then sharing our lives with those in the body of Christ.  When we believe Jesus is the Son of God, when we have faith in God, we overcome. It is not an option.  The Word says our faith overcomes the world.  We may like to bring all the arguments against this since we don’t always experience the overcoming victory we expect to achieve, but that is only evidence our faith is still not grounded in Jesus. 

One of my favorite verses on overcoming is found in Romans 8:37 (NASB) “But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loves us.”  Most versions are written, “We are more than conquerors.”  We probably should know what “all these things” are.  We are going to go through things while living on earth.  Those things are:  v. 35 – tribulations, distress, persecution, famine, nakednesss, peril, and sword.  Tribulations would be things causing great stress and pressure or calamity.  Distresses we experience include extreme circumstances where we feel there is no way of escape because it feels so narrow, including sickness and disease.  Perhaps we suffer persecution for our faith in Jesus Christ even fearing attacks from people beyond mere words.  We will also experience hardship, possibly lack of food, clothing and other dangers to our well-being. 

Then verse 37 comes with the words “but” and “all”.  But, in all of these things we overwhelmingly conquer.  Christians almost daily proclaim, “I don’t know if I am going to make it through this one.” Or “It will take a move of God to get me through this.” Or “I just can’t take any more.”  Or “I wonder if God is even watching me because He sure isn’t doing anything for me here.”  We may feel all of things but at some point, we MUST stand up in the faith which gives us victory and proclaim “BUT in ALL these things I overwhelmingly conquer.”  This is not simply defeating the enemy, it is a landslide beating.

When going through trials, persecutions and the like, people like to vent and get all the “bad” things” out.  Perhaps they even convince themselves this is the way to get over something.  What we do not realize is that in doing this, we only propagate the negative feelings, and we do it because we want sympathy or empathy.  I am not suggesting we “fake” it and pretend all is well all the time.  BUT, I am suggesting we speak the Word and do the Word rather than doing what feels good at the time.

Recently I was sad, frustrated, angry, and irritated with Christian people.  This happens every so often so I recognize the feeling when it comes on me.  I was feeling suffocated by the complaints and lack of faith I was hearing and seeing in the body of Christ.  I am not insensitive or immune to the problems we all face in this world, but I am very sensitive to how we handle these problems.  In my emotion I found myself discouraged and judgmental leaving me at the point of tears.  Since I want to be a doer of the Word and not a hearer only, I knew I must overcome and experience victory through faith.  I knew I had to get into the Word of God and allow Him to refresh, convict, and renew my thinking.  I knew I was to intercess through Him, not vent to others, (which would only fuel my frustration).  Knowing all of this, I knew I had to make the right decision but was I ready and willing to be obedient? 

It is a choice to nurse negative feelings or move into a place of confession and repentance, allowing God to cleanse and wash allowing Him to take the burdens. I will admit I don’t always choose rightly.  Most times I vent first and then go to God afterwards.  Timing is everything!  If I would go to God first, I can vent to Him and won’t have a need to vent to others.  Oftentimes we hang on to these emotions for the sake of validity or we believe the emotions have a hold on us and they will just go away in time.  But our victory comes through faith in Jesus, and our faith in Jesus includes being obedient to His will, and His will is firmly established and revealed in His Word and by His Spirit.       

The next time trials and tribulations come, as they will, and you feel overwhelmed, remember you are more than a conqueror through Christ.  Everything must bow to our holy God.  Revelation 12:11 says “And they overcame him (the accuser of the brethren) by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony, and they did not love their lives to the death.” Don’t settle for complaining and venting when you overwhelming conquer everything in this world through faith in Jesus Christ.  In other words, overcome so you are not overcome.  Overcome by faith in Jesus so the world does not overcome you!

 

2 responses to “Overcome So You Are Not Overcome

  1. Kristen Larson

    January 19, 2010 at 2:05 am

    Julie you are such an awesome wittness for Christ. I am so blessed to have you guys as pastors, I so love your blog.
    Be blessed

     

Leave a Reply

 
