RSS

Believe and See!

17 Feb

    In John 14:12-17 Jesus tells us “Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father. And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  If you ask anything in My name, I will do it.  If you love Me, keep My commandments.  And I will pray the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever—the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him; but you know Him, for He dwells with you and will be in you.” 

     I have known this passage of Scripture for years but there came a point when it “hit” and I wanted to experience what Jesus said we would experience.  I wanted to truly believe in Him, do the works He did, see Him do what I asked, love Him, and obey His commands.  I wanted to know this Spirit of truth who had taken up residency in me.  I do not know how other people feel about their bodies being the dwelling place of Holy Spirit, but when I believed what Jesus was saying, that the Spirit of truth “dwells” with me and will be “in” me, I thought perhaps I should get to know Him.  It was time for me to get determined to know Holy Spirit, Jesus, Father, and His kingdom.    

      When we believe what Jesus says we will operate with a heavenly kingdom mindset rather than an earthly one.  Jesus says if we believe in Him, we will do the works He did and even greater works.  The truth is we cannot believe these words of Jesus if we limit our potential to worldly resources. Nor can we believe Jesus if we limit His audience to the apostles or the people He was speaking to at that time.  However when we identify the “he” and “you” He speaks to,  as being “us” and we trust His Word to do greater works, we set our minds on heavenly things. 

     Then we must ask the hard questions and answer them truthfully.  Do we truly believe in Jesus?  Do we believe the same works He does we will do?  Do we believe we will do greater works because He has gone to His Father? Do we believe whatever we ask in His name He will do?  Do we know the Father is glorified in the Son through Jesus doing what we ask in His Name?  Do we ask anything in His Name, knowing and believing He will do it?  Do we keep His commandments because we LOVE Him?  Do we understand the Spirit of Truth, our Helper, abides and dwells with us, and is IN us?  Do we know our Helper?   If we answer “no” or “not sure” to any of these questions it is simply time to seek the Lord while He can be found and say “yes” to all He has to say to us.

      In 2002 I spoke a phrase in tongues nearly every time I prayed and it sounded like a riddle. The Word says if we speak in a tongue pray we may interpret. (1 Corinthians 14:13) Holy Spirit gave the  interpretation for this tongue:  ”You see, but you don’t believe, you believe, but you don’t see.” God was telling me I saw Him do signs and wonders but did not believe because of skepticism, but other times I believed Him to do signs and wonders after receiving revelation from His Word but I did not see them come to pass.  Often times while praying over the next couple of months, this same phrase would come with slight variations and my frustration increased because I wanted to both “believe” and “see”, and it did not appear I was making progress.  Almost three months later after receiving the interpretation, I attended a worship service where a pastor prayed for me saying “When you believe, you will see!” I thought I “did” believe but God revealed otherwise. Rather than being discouraged I was filled with renewed hope and I began a journey asking God to show me how to solidify my belief in Him so I would see.

     One year later a man attending our worship service had a word from the Lord for my husband and me as well as some bible passages to stand on for encouragement.  He began to pray for us and at one point looked at me and said, “Everything you believe, you will see.” What an amazing journey the Lord had me on! I was thrilled because I knew God was causing me to believe things from His Word in my spirit, even though circumstances were telling me differently. Today, I still have not seen “everything” I believe for but that only causes me to live in anticipation of what God is going to do every day, because I know what He told me, and long to see everything I believe.

     Several years after this revelation I was preparing a message to share at church and God surprised me by adding to this journey through a quote, “It is what you do with what you “don’t see” that determines what you do see.” When we are not seeing everything we believe for, God encourages and directs us in what to do with what we are “not” seeing.  We need to rightly divide the truths discovered in the Word of God. We need to stand on the Rock and not be moved, but rather move mountains.  We need to persevere amidst persecution, affliction, and continued trials.    

     In Mark 11:22, Jesus says “Have faith in God.” When we put our faith in God, remembering it is by His Spirit not by might or power, we will believe for things we cannot see and we will see them come to pass. Through our eyes of faith we will see what God sees and the possibilities are limitless with God. We will remain steadfast in faith and study of the Word to “know” what to believe for before we see it. Remember: it is what we do with what we do not see which will determine what we do see.  Faithfulness is a prerequisite to fulfillment. 

     We must be people willing to ASK, desiring to SEE, and eager to DO!  We must have faith in God.  We must know Holy Spirit – recognize He dwells with us.  We must remember our Father is glorified in the Son when we ask in Jesus’ Name and know He does what we ask.  By the way – “Must” means to be compelled – Let us be people compelled to believe in Jesus, do the works, believe God’s Word even when we do not see, and then let us see, knowing He will do whatever we ask in His Name!

 

Leave a Reply

 
