RSS

Dance With Me!

12 Jun

One of my favorite worship songs is “Dance With Me” by Chris Dupre and the lyrics go like this:

Dance with me                                          Behold You have come                     With You I will go
O lover of my soul                                     Over the hills                                  You are my love
To the song of all songs                           Upon the mountains                         You are my fair one
Romance me                                              To me You have run                         Winter is past
O lover of my soul                                     My beloved                                      And the springtime has come
To the song of all songs                            You’ve captured my heart

These words are a beautiful articulation of the desire in our hearts to dance with the One we love, to steal away with Him, living in His presence. Worshipping God in spirit and in truth draws us into the loving arms of our Savior. Recently during prayer this song began to play and the Lord spoke to me: “You! Dance with Me.  You! Romance Me.  It is true I have come over the hills and mountains. Now dance with Me.  You say you will go with Me, so Come!”  The voice I heard in my spirit was firm and demanding yet inviting and passionate.  I was overwhelmed because Jesus was not only taking me up on my request to romance and dance with Him, calling me out so to speak, but also telling me He had done His part and I needed to get in step with Him.  He came and was present so “Dance with Him!”  It is one thing to pursue God – but another thing to have a fresh revelation of His pursuit! 

Have you ever thought about dancing in the arms of our Beloved Jesus? Dancing with God is a delightful part of our love relationship. Dancing is not often spoken of in the Bible but is encouraged as part of our sacrifice of praise.  Psalm 149 and 150 command praise is to be offered with dance.  “Let them praise His name with the dance…”  “Praise Him with the timbrel and dance…”  So let the dance begin – dance like David danced before the Lord (2 Samuel  6:14) Enjoy His presence!  He is right here!  He has taken us up on our invitation to dance – He says, “Now!  You!  Dance with Me!” Go ahead and let the Spirit of God sing those words over you right now, receiving His invitation to dance and romance Him.

As I continued to search Scripture and reflect on the word He spoke that evening, the Lord impressed on me to reverse the direction of the song so He is singing to us rather than us singing to Him.  I thought I was initiating by asking Him to dance with me, but He was imparting the truth that He had already initiated.  I did not need to request a dance but rather I needed to accept His dance request.   There is a difference between asking someone to dance and romance us, and someone initiating and pursuing us in dance and romance.  When that “Someone” is God – well that makes all the difference in and out of this world. 

Jesus has already invited us to dance with Him to the Song of all Songs.  We have only to look at some verses in Song of Solomon to understand how far Jesus has come to be intimate with us, His bride.  I understand some people think Song of Solomon is simply a poetic book about lovers, filled with too many sexual innuendos.  But it is a dialogue of love between Christ and the Church, the Bridegroom and His Bride.  When we read it as such, the commitment to intimacy is evident and it stirs a desire for us to know Him in that intimacy.  Since this book is also referred to as the Song of Songs, sing the verses rather than just reading them.  Let Holy Spirit teach you a new song.  This book is the song of love – there is no greater, more heavenly song which can be sung, for this is the song of Christ to His beloved, and it is the Bride’s song to her Beloved. 

The Lord has already taken notice of us.  He has come over the hills and mountains to find us.  His words from that evening were confirmed in Song of Solomon 2:8 “(The Shulamite) The voice of my beloved! Behold, he comes leaping upon the mountains, skipping upon the hills.”  The Shulamite represents “us” the Bride of Christ, those for whom Jesus comes leaping and skipping.  He is delighted to come and find us!  She “hears” the voice of her beloved!  We “hear” the voice of our Savior!  He has come!  Not only is He leaping and skipping but He is speaking since she hears His voice.  Listen!  Hear Him!  See Him! 

Jesus is the Beloved in the Song of Songs and He speaks to us as His bride.  He repeatedly woos us with the endearments “My love and My fair one”.  In 1:15 He says: “Behold, you are fair, my love! Behold, you are fair! You have dove’s eyes.”  Again, in 2:10 “My beloved spoke, and said to me: “Rise up, my love, my fair one, and come away.” Then in 2:13 “Rise up, my love, my fair one, and come away!”Again in 4:1 “Behold, you are fair, my love! Behold, you are fair! You have dove’s eyes behind your veil.”  And again in 4:7 “You are all fair, my love, and there is no spot in you.” 

Reflecting on these words explains why the Lord told me that night to reverse the words and hear Him speak the words from Himself to me.  Because those ARE His words to us!  In the song we sing “You are my love, you are my fair one.”  But before we have ever cried out to Him “My love, My fair one”, He has called us “His love” and “His fair one” over and over again in the Song of Songs, and He still expresses His deep affection for us today with those same words!  Pause and let the wonder of His words envelope you.  Soak in the presence of Jesus, receiving His affection through these sweet words of tenderness. Oh, to grasp the depth of love our Savior has for us!  Hear His voice speaking “You are fair, my love.  Rise up, my love, my fair one, and come away. You have dove’s eyes. You are gentle and pure.  There is no spot in you.” 

When we are in Christ, this is what He sees when He looks at us.  When we look at ourselves do we see the same?  God loves to be with us.  He loves to look in our eyes and listen to our voices.  He says in Song of Solomon 2:14 “O my dove, in the clefts of the rock, in the secret places of the cliff, let me see your face, let me hear your voice; For your voice is sweet, And your face is lovely.”   And in 4:8-9 “Come with Me from Lebanon, My spouse…You have ravished My heart, My sister, My spouse; You have ravished My heart with one look of your eyes, with one link of your necklace.” Can you imagine ravishing the heart of God?  Yet that is exactly what He says happens to Him when we look at Him one time.  Our necks are adorned with the graces of God, a love chain so to speak.  Where once we wore a yoke of oppression, in Christ we are beautifully adorned and He has only to experience one expression of our love and His heart is ravished. 

There was a time I struggled with low self-esteem so when I looked in the mirror all I saw were flaws.  I rarely spoke because I thought nothing I had to say was worthy of being heard. One day my husband said, “What are you saying about me when all you do is insult yourself?  You are saying I have bad taste.  I chose you because I love how you look and how you talk.  I love everything about you.”  I received those words and because I loved my husband, I wanted to honor him and his words.  So it became about believing him instead of the lies.  I could no longer look in the mirror and see what I formerly saw.  I began to see what my husband saw in me because I was (and am) passionately in love with him.

I believe God says the same thing to us.  We insult Him when we see ourselves outside of Him.  He created and chose us.  When He hears us, it is sweet music to His ears.  When He looks in our face, He sees loveliness.  When we live in Christ our intimacy with God deepens and we find ourselves completely engrossed in Him. We honor Him when we reciprocate the intensity of love He has for us.  Because we are passionately in love with the Savior of our souls, the Lord Jesus Christ, we can no longer see ourselves as we once did.  As new creations we now see ourselves beautifully adorned.  We see ourselves as He sees us because we are one with Him.   

Let your dance with God begin today!  The Church IS the bride of Christ.  Let us dance with Him today!  Let us accept His invitation!  Let us return the love He has for us with the same intensity and passion He loves!  We are to love the Lord our God with all our heart, soul, and strength. (Deuteronomy 6:5) Feel free to love as He loves – with everything you have!  He did!  He does!  Sing this Song of Songs today – but reverse the direction and let Him sing to you – and you?  Dance with Him!  He said “Come”.  Go!     

 

One response to “Dance With Me!

  1. Meghan Joy Yancy

    July 17, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Wow… it’s like I forget how passionately God pursues us (me) and that I also need to pursue Him! You would think it would be simple but I’ve forgotten. Thank you for the new revelation!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
