RSS

My Heart Beats Loud and Hard!

16 Nov

(Inspired by my granddaughter, Harper!  Again, thank You Jesus for you willingness to teach us about You!)

I have special moments with each of my grandchildren and as these moments multiply I am still amazed at God’s goodness in revealing the deep relationship we share as family.  In the midst of these special moments He shares extraordinary truths about Himself and His children.  On one particular Sunday morning I was holding my two month old granddaughter while singing with our worship team.  I thought the sound from the monitors might be too loud for her but she cuddled in on my shoulder and neck so I just “went with it”.  Through all the singing, jumping, dancing, and celebrating, she remained wide awake but snuggled in, seeming to be completely “at ease” in the midst of “His glory”. 

There was a moment in time when Holy Spirit told me to pause, listen, and feel my heartbeat.  I promptly obeyed as I always do! (that was supposed to be funny – of course I don’t always promptly obey but it is surely my desire).  I did what I was told and it felt like my heart was literally jumping out of my chest and it seemed if I looked down I would see it pounding as well.  Then Holy Spirit told me to look at how my granddaughter was positioned.  Her body was directly over my heart where she could feel and hear my heartbeat making her feel safe and secure.  The loud music and movement did not bother her because she trusted me and was close to the heart of one who passionately loved her, and she felt it physically, emotionally, and spiritually.   

At the same time, I was cognizant of an instant explosion of love shared between my granddaughter and me. Then God shared something amazing; the same thing happens between Him and us!  Song of Solomon 4:9 tells us “You have ravished my heart, My sister, My spouse; you have ravished My heart with one look of your eyes, with one link of your necklace.” In this poetic expression of intense love God shares what happens to Him when we look at Him. His heart is ravished, literally meaning that we encourage Him and His heart beats faster when we look at Him! There is a love explosion between us!  I was already stunned by the revelation of my beating heart of love ravished by my granddaughter, but to discover I ravish the heart of God is even more staggering.  Remember – this is the Creator of the Universe – Our Savior and Lord, the Lover of our souls whose heart we ravish!  Absolutely indescribable!

Without a doubt I was undone in the presence of God after this experience. Then, as if sharing this intense love with her was not enough for one day, the Lord said there is more!  In the same way holding my granddaughter close brought delight and comfort to us, when we rest in His arms we share delight and comfort with Him!  In the same way my granddaughter snuggled in as I held her tightly bringing a sense of safety and security, we can snuggle in with God, letting Him hold us tightly to feel safe and secure.  In the same way her body was positioned over my heart where she heard and felt the beat and received my love, we can cozy up and position ourselves in His heart, receiving His love as we listen to His heartbeat.  And just like the noise from the monitors and the movements of my dancing and jumping were not a hindrance to my granddaughter because she was “at ease” with me, we can be free from distractions in life and the chaos of the world when we are “at ease” with God. 

One would think with all this revelation we should desire to imitate my granddaughter in our relationship with God!  We get close to His heart when we position ourselves in His Word every day.  His heart beats loud and hard as He speaks “I love you, My children”!  You see, when we love the Lord with all our heart, with all our soul, and with all our strength, we will love His Word in the same manner.   John 1:1,14 “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth.”  Jesus is the Word AND the Bible is His Word!  Beloved, as we read and meditate on the Word of God, we are close to His heart where we hear the beat!

Some people describe the Bible as an instruction manual using the acronym “Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth”.  I dislike this description because His Word is anything but basic and so much more than instructional. Others have described the Bible as a love letter to His people.  A little better but even this limits the meaning of the Living Word.  If the Bible is not just an instruction manual or love letter what is it?  The truth is that His Word cannot be completely or perfectly explained.  Any description falls short of describing the immensity and holiness of His Word! I like how one song’s chorus speaks of the Book:

The pages of the Book, are turned with trembling awe; As we witness wonders there, that only faithful saw; We go as deep as we can go; look as hard as we can look; But we only scratch the surface, of the meaning of the Book.

In His Book He answers our questions even before we ask.  Though the Bible is thousands of years old it continues to speak to people in our age and of all age groups yet seems not to have aged a day itself.  The very thoughts of God are written down in the Bible with wisdom pouring out faster and more powerfully than we can ingest.  The Word of God reveals our calling in life and gives commands to save and protect us! We reap security and protection when we open our heart and soul to His Word! There are vast and priceless treasures found only in His Word! The Bible is inspired by Holy Spirit, written with blood and tears as it speaks life and healing to every area of our existence.  All this is but a glimpse of what the Word of God is!  But one thing is certain!  The moment we let Him speak to us from His Word, from His heart to our hearts, they begin to beat loud and hard in response to one another!

The deeper we go, the harder we look, and the more we scratch below the surface of His Word, the more we feel, see, and hear His heartbeat!  One of the most poignant chapters in Scripture which portrays this heart relationship is Psalm 91!  Verses 1-3 “He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.  I will say of the Lord, ‘He is my refuge and my fortress: My God, in Him I will trust. He shall cover you with His feathers and under His wings you shall take refuge; His truth shall be your shield and buckler.”  We have the privilege of dwelling in His secret place, close to His heart, living in constant communion with Him, in a place of complete safety, serenity, and security!

In the same way this sheltering effect in God makes us feel “at ease” no matter what life brings, be it storm or sunshine, my granddaughter felt “at ease” in Grandma’s arms, unconcerned about what was happening around her.  When we feel “at ease” we are better givers and receivers because we “trust”! As much as babies are great receivers of love, they are also great givers of love, especially when they trust the person holding them and feel “at ease”.  That day, it was as though my granddaughter had “set” her love upon me.  But we can only give because He first gave to us!  God is the all-time greatest giver and receiver!  He receives our love and knowledge of Him and then gives deliverance and sets us on high! Psalm 91:14 “Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore I will deliver him; I will set him on high, because he has known My name.” 

Setting our love upon God, knowing His Name, and abiding with Him allow us to fear nothing!  But there is more to this Psalm, more on the heart of God, because though there are great benefits to dwelling in Him, we must understand we are not immune to the mayhem of life. Staying close to God does not alienate us from the evil of this world.  However, it does provide a safe refuge for us to abide as we go through life! In other words it is because of all the destruction around us that we must dwell in the shelter of the Most High God! We must snuggle in with God and experience a love explosion because the world happens!  Look at some of Psalm 91!

  • v. 3 He will deliver us from snares and pestilence in life:  BUT they still come or else we wouldn’t need deliverance!
  • v. 4 He will cover us and provide a safe refuge for us: BUT there are still attacks or else we wouldn’t need a covering or refuge!
  • v. 4 His truth is a shield:  SO falsehood must exist or we would not need this strong defense
  • v. 5 We will not be afraid of the terrors by night: SO there must be something to be afraid of, evils that exist which are not obvious and cannot be seen (night).
  • v. 5 We will not be afraid of the arrow by day:  SO there is going to be exposed evil we can see in the light (day).
  • v.6 We are not afraid of the pestilence that walks in darkness, nor of the destruction that lays waste at noonday:  SO again we see affliction and persecution will come at us at all times, night and day, things we can see and things we cannot see.

Take some time to draw close to the heart of God by opening His Word!  Start here in Psalm 91! Let His heart beat loud and hard in your ears!  THEN feel your heart respond to His! Snuggle up with God!  Pause! Listen! Feel!  Let the Word of God speak!  Then let your heart beat with His heart beat! 

After this experience with my granddaughter I entered yet another dimension of relationship and now when holding my grandchildren I instantly think about our “hearts” and the love explosions continue! And then…. There is God!  Let our love explosion begin! 

 

3 responses to “My Heart Beats Loud and Hard!

  1. Meghan Joy Yancy

    February 11, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    LOVE EXPLOSION!
    What a great revelation!
    And so cool to hear about your moments with beautiful Harper! Love relating it to our relationship with God! Woo hoo!
    Wanna snuggle up with Him!

     
  2. kristen Larson

    February 1, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    Wow, such an amazing truth!! Love this blog

     

Leave a Reply

 
