RSS

What If?

02 Feb

There are all kinds of “What if” questions in life!  Some we ask “out loud” but most we only “think” about. Some are filled with anticipation and excitement thrusting us into discovering answers while others fill us with fear and frustration as we wade through daily life spending way too much time haunted by “what if?”  There seem to be different categories of “what if’s”! 

There are those that if would require life adjustments if we did them!  What if we take a new job, re-locate, or change schools?  What if things don’t work out the way we thought they would or should?  What if we try new hobbies or business adventures?

  • By confronting these “what if’s” we will embrace the new God has prepared for us. 

Other “what if” questions have the potential to turn our lives upside down:  What if my best friend betrays me?  What if I lose my spouse, parents, or child?  What if my house burns down?  What if someone I love gets ill? What if lose friends by telling them the truth?

  • By facing the reality of these “what if’s” we lose all fear by walking in complete trust in a God who has all things under control. 

There are personal “what if” questions we would do well to ask ourselves:  What if I stop jumping to conclusions?  What if I control my temper so I don’t regret my words and actions later?  What if I listen to people without formulating my own thoughts in response?  What if I treat other people like I want to be treated?  What if I choose to unconditionally love and forgive? What if I choose to respect and honor my elders, no matter what?  What if I refuse to “get back” at people?  What if I admit I am wrong more often than not? 

  • By dealing with these “what if’s” we learn Godly maturity, loyalty, steadfastness, and commitment.

Then there are the “what if” questions we need to take most seriously but rarely give attention to: What if I were to completely trust God and His promises?  What if I truly surrender all to Jesus?  What if I choose never to take offense?   What if I choose to make godly decisions instead of politically correct ones? What if I walk in truth? What if I choose to really live as though Jesus is enough?

  • By welcoming the transformation which would come by “doing” the “what if’s” of faith we would overwhelming conquer all things in this world and live the victorious life in Christ we were meant to live here on earth. 

Life would get very exciting for most of us by choosing these routes in the “what if’s” of life instead of taking our own detours.  There is an endless supply of “what if” questions but lately the Lord has been challenging me to tackle the “what if’s” in life head on because by eliminating them we truly live!  “What if” questions are generally posed out of fear, impossibility, or even rhetoric so by answering them we free ourselves to live fully in Christ!   

As the Lord challenged me to answer every “what if” question in life rather than just leaving them swaying in the wind, He showed me how to do it by downloading a very simple principle! 

 Every time I see an “if” in the Bible I should ask “What if” and the answer will follow!  

Now perhaps for most people this is an “obvious” revelation but for me it was extraordinary especially as I looked at all the “if’s” in the Word of God, then asked “what if” and found answers to every single one of them.   Holy Spirit said in this way we eliminate all fear, uncertainty, impossibility, or even the uselessness in “what if” questions because He has an answer to every “what if” question in life.  Let me demonstrate how God showed me to do this by looking at just a few of the one thousand six hundred thirty-seven times “if” is used in the Bible.  I would LOVE to do all of them for you and I could but you wouldn’t read them!  So here goes a few! 

Genesis 4:7If you do well, will you not be accepted?  And if you do not do well, sin lies at the door.  And its desire is for you, but you should rule over it.”  So…What if you do well?  You will be accepted and rule over sin! What if you do not do well?  Sin lies at the door because it desires you.

Job 36:11If they (the righteous) obey and serve Him, they shall spend their days in prosperity, and their years in pleasures.”  So…What if righteous people obey and serve Him?  They will prosper and live pleasurable lives.  What if the righteous do not obey?  They will perish and die with no knowledge. (v.12)

Psalm 14:2 “The Lord looks down from heaven upon the children of men, to see if there are any who understand, who seek God.”  So… What if there are any who understand and seek God?  Those people will turn aside from corruption and do good, be knowledgeable, and call on the Lord! 

Matthew 9:21 “For she said to herself, ‘If only I may touch His garment, I shall be made well.” So… What if I reach out to Jesus and touch even His garment?  I am made well.

John 6:51 “I am the living bread which came down from heaven.  If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever; and the bread that I shall give is My flesh, which I shall give for the life of the world.”  So… What if we eat the living bread (Jesus)? We live forever! 

John 8:36 “Therefore if the Son makes you free, you shall be free indeed.”  So… What if the Son makes you free?  You are free! 

Galatians 6:9 “And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart.”  So…What if we do not lose heart?  We will not grow weary while doing good and we will reap when it is time! 

This is so simple and yet so amazing it is nearly breathtaking!  Can you see the simplicity in “what if” questions and what that means for our lives today?  The answers are obvious, promise filled, life giving, eternal, full of joy and hope!  Every one of God’s “what if” questions are answered in His Word!  Every one of our “what if” questions in life are answered in His Word too!  YES!!!!!  If we ask the “what if” questions without ever answering them we will never rise above and live as Christ wants us to live!   Though I would LOVE to take the time to cover all the “what if” questions presented earlier in this teaching, I will show you how to apply this principle to all “what if” questions in life by doing a few of them!

What if I take a new job?  What we are really asking is what if I step out in faith, leaving the old and taking on the new?  If we are calling out, praying, seeking, and searching for God, He will be found by us and listen to us and it will be well.  Jeremiah 29:11-13 “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.”

What if my best friend betrays me?  We are asking if it is worth the risk to love deeply if there is the possibility of hurt and betrayal.  God would say, take the risk and be assured betrayal will happen but it’s okay because you are saved!   Mark 13:12 “Now brother will betray brother to death, and a father his child; and children will rise up against parents and cause them to be put to death.  And you will be hated by all for My name’s sake.  But he who endures to the end shall be saved.” 

What if I treat other people like I want to be treated? By asking this we come face to face with our own shortcomings and are met with the challenge of stepping it up in relationships.  If we do treat others like we want to be treated then we would have the same mind as Christ and God would work in us to will and do His good pleasure.  Philippians 2:3-5,13 “Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself.  Let each of you look out not only for his own interests, but also for the interests of others.  Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus…for it is God who works in you both to will and to do for His good pleasure.”

What if I really trusted in all of God’s promises?  At some point we should come to the realization though we might know God’s promises we rarely trust in them as much as we think we do. But if we did we would receive all He promises.  2 Corinthians 1:20 “For all the promises of God in Him are Yes, and in Him Amen, to the glory of God through us.”

What if I truly surrender all to Jesus?  What we are really asking is if it is truly possible to surrender all and “what” does that really mean?  If we did submit all of ourselves to Him we would stay humble, draw near to God and He to us, and we would be lifted up!  James 4:7-10

What if I refuse to be offended?  First we would have to admit we do take offense and then know we are blessed if we stop doing so! Matthew 11:6 “And blessed is he who is not offended because of Me.”

What if I choose to always forgive?  This means we forgive every time for any reason with no exceptions or rationalizations.  The result would be freedom and forgiveness for ourselves, while the opposite is just as true.  Matthew 6:1415 “For if you forgive men their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.”

What if I walk in truth?  If we live in the reality of walking in truth at all times we will stand against anything, anywhere, all the time!  Ephesians 6:13-14 “Therefore take up the whole armor of God that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.  Stand therefore, having girded your waist with truth…”

The next time you are tempted to say or think

“What if” go to the Word of God and then

just do it!  

 

 

One response to “What If?

  1. kristen Larson

    February 2, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    This blog is such a blessing to me. I know I’ve used the phrase what if, millions of times way more than the word if, is used in the Word of God that’s for sure.

    Thank you again for posting these awesome teachings. These blogs and your gift of writing and sharing them with me I know, Is a huge blessing!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
