RSS

How Awesome IS Our God? #1

15 Aug

Screen-Shot-2012-08-18-at-9_43_45-PMI’m adjusting to much change in my life right now and as a result, I’ve realized how easy it is to get my attention OFF God and His awesomeness, and ONTO myself and how NOT awesome I feel (Hopefully that makes someone smile). When that happens, I start second-guessing everything and everyone which leads straight to a deeper funk!

I originally wrote this as a series of devotions for a summer family camp but thought to rewrite it as a series of short blogs about the different ways we can explore the awesomeness of God! When I answer the question, “How awesome IS our God?”, THAT makes me smile and get my attention ONTO God and OFF of me!  I hope that happens for you as well!

I used an acronym for AWESOME to remind us of just “some” of the ways we can explore the awesomeness of God!

A – Through Adoration

W – In Wonder

E – With Energy and Expectation

S – In Simplicity

O – By Obsession

M – Through Meditating on Him

E – With Excitement Everyday

adoreWe start with A – Exploring how AWESOME God is through ADORATION!

At Christmas time we sing “O come let us adore Him!” To adore means to love so deeply as to breathe in the subject of our adoration. To adore Jesus is to worship, admire, and be passionate with Him! There is a deep love connection between Jesus and us; one in which we feel unfulfilled if we do not spend time adoring Him!

So, take some deep breaths: Breathe out all the garbage; the busyness, frustration, striving, anger, confusion, and weariness of life. Breathe in the life-giving breath of God! Job 33:4 “The Spirit of God has made me and the breath of the Almighty gives me life.”

Focus your thoughts on Jesus whose yoke is easy and burden is light. You will learn how to rest in Him as you adore Him and everything about Him! Matthew 11:29-30 “Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” Feel the tension go and the peace of God flooding in to bring relief!

Now, spend time adoring Jesus; breathing in the awesomeness of God! Really…just do it! Don’t think about doing it….Don’t put it off until break time…Don’t wait until bedtime…O come…let us adore Him…now!

psalm-139-1-3-nkjv-550x320Here’s a little truth to get you kick-started! Jesus sees and knows all! Psalm 139:1-3,14 “O Lord, You have searched me and known me. You know my sitting down and my rising up; You understand my thought afar off. You comprehend my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways. I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; marvelous are Your works, and THAT, my soul knows very well.”

How awesome IS our God? Through adoration we discover He is the only One who searches and knows us. He knows every little thing you do and every place you go! He knows your thoughts, your motives, your goals, your visions, and your dreams. He knows what’s on your mind right now! He knows the myriad of emotions you’re experiencing right his moment! He knows what you WILL do and He knows what you WON’T do today! He created You wonderfully and marvelously! How awesome IS that? How awesome IS our God? When you spend time in adoration, you’ll get answers!

Prayer: Thank You Father God for giving us this day; one more day…one more opportunity to focus our attention on You in adoration, not on all the “stuff” that gets most of our attention! Thank You for being awesome and for making us the people You adore! We love you with our whole hearts! Thank You for giving us everything we need, want, and desire! We pray as we breathe You in today, we would discover new depths of adoration and intimacy to comprehend more of You! In Jesus’ Name we pray, Amen!

Awesome-God

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 15, 2013 in Awesome God

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “How Awesome IS Our God? #1

  1. Vicky lee Hoffmann

    August 15, 2013 at 11:27 am

    Your verse from Job was such a good reminder. It is God’s Spirit that gives our spirits life and yet we seek that life from so many empty cisterns. Thanks for using your gifts to bless others, like me. V+

     

Leave a Reply

 
