RSS

How Awesome IS Our God? #6

20 Aug

Screen-Shot-2012-08-18-at-9_43_45-PMWe’re almost done using an acronym to explore how AWESOME God is! Today we do it through MEDITATING on Him!

A – Through Adoration

W – In Wonder

E – With Energy and Expectation

S – In Simplicity

O – By Obsession

M – Through Meditating on Him

E – With Excitement Everyday

Meditating on God! Meditate means to contemplate, ponder, think on, consider, deliberate, turn over in our minds, mull over, and reflect upon! When we believe in Jesus, we get to do all these things every day…what a great privilege, what an honor, what a pleasure to meditate on God and His Word every minute of every day!  What freedom knowing we need not waste a single minute focused on “us” but can spend every moment, day and night, investing in Jesus!

zoo-beach-reunion-2009-272Scripture gives us many reminders to meditate on God!

Psalm 63:6 “When I remember You on my bed, I meditate on You in the night watches.”

Psalm 145:5 “I will meditate on the glorious splendor of Your majesty, and on Your wondrous works.”

 Psalm 77:12 “I will also meditate on all Your work, and talk of Your deeds.”

The world suggests we empty our minds and practice relaxation techniques like yoga and transcendental meditation to relieve stress and make us more productive. But God gives more than a suggestion! He tells us what to do! He says to remember Him at night, don’t empty our minds but fill them with thoughts of Him; don’t mull over our problems but ponder the glorious splendor of His majesty; don’t contemplate all the unfinished work we have yet to complete but consider His wondrous works! When we commit to meditating on God and His awesomeness, the natural follow-up is to talk about Him and His deeds. We’ll have so much of Him in our brain that when we open our mouth, He comes out! That can change our environment…yes?

I refer to one of my favorite Christian songs “Hold Me” as my “happy” song because it reflects my own obsession with God (blog #5 in this series). Here are a few of the words: “I know I should be workin’, but I’m thinking of You; and, just when I feel this crazy world is gonna bring me down, that’s when Your smile comes around…forever in my heart, always on my mind, it’s crazy how I think about You all of the time; and, just when I think I’m ‘bout to figure You out; You make me want to sing and shout…”

prayingThinking on God; meditating on Him; it feeds our obsession for more of Him and His awesomeness! I love Psalm 143:5 “I remember the days of old; I meditate on all Your works; I muse on the work of Your hands.” Remember, meditate, muse! Letting our minds be filled with God; what He has done and what He is doing; all His mighty works! That’s awesome!

I’m awake a lot at night (actually in the early morning hours shortly after midnight) and often times when that happens, my brain takes me places I don’t want to go or be; like trying to figure out WHY I’m awake; “I’m having hot flashes, I’m in pain, I’m sore, It’s hot in the house, I’ve got so much work to get done, There are so many problems to deal with.” Let me just say, that’s a miserable way to spend “awake” time!

psalm-119148_4369_1024x768scripture meditationThere’s a better way to be awake at night (if I can’t sleep) Psalm 119:148 “My eyes are awake through the night watches; that I may meditate on Your Word.” So THAT’S why I’m awake! That I may meditate on His Word!  Awesome! If you think about it, (mediate on it) it’s actually the perfect set up for a night watch of meditating on God! If you’re awake through the night watches, feel free to meditate on His Word!

I’d like to tell you I get it right every night; the very first time too! But I don’t! Sometimes I’m just so tired I let frustration lead me to wasting time thinking about “WHY” I’m awake. But the more I practice God’s life-giving truth, the faster I get around to taking control of my brain and not letting IT lead me! Then, I get to experience more of the awesomeness of God! When I say “no” to the fluff that fills my mind and “yes” to the firm foundation of truth that NEEDS to fill my mind, my awesome God calms me and reminds me that He LOVES to spend time with me! Even during the night watch!

imagesCA56QYADWhether it is day or night – learn how to meditate on God; His Word; His works; His majesty! In the book of Joshua we’re given great advice (or shall I say “command”) Joshua 1:7-8 “Only be strong and very courageous, that you may observe to do according to all the law which Moses My servant commanded you; do not turn from it to the right hand or to the left, that you may prosper wherever you go. This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.”

Isn’t that a GREAT idea? Have fun today meditating on God! I know His awesomeness will lead to more meditation, more doing, more talking about Him, and His awesomeness is spread to more people!

And tonight? I pray you sleep well…but if you’re awake…have a great time meditating even more on the awesomeness of God!

Awesome-God

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 20, 2013 in Awesome God

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
