RSS

Look Out Your Window! Things Are About to Look Up!

25 Aug

Does it feel at times like your life is in disarray? Too many transitions? Too many changes? Or do you have the opposite situation? Life is monotonous and nothing new ever seems to come your way? Do you need a little change of perspective, a bit of encouragement? I hope this little story will help you look out your window, see clearly what you need to see, then open the door to Jesus and what God has in store for you just because…you’re you!

We recently sold the first and only home we’d ever owned. What a strange feeling to hand over your house keys to people you just met at closing. Equally strange is to receive keys from people you just met! It just seemed odd; one minute we owned a home we had grown to love and a few minutes later, we owned a home we would grow to love! We all had put a lot of work, love, and money into our houses so going into the closings, we were both selling homes, not just places to live.

During the closings friends were driving with our possessions to the new house, waiting for news that the papers were signed and sealed! When I gave the word, they went to work and by the time we arrived, one moving truck was already empty and within hours, all our belongings were unloaded at our new “old” home. Thus began a new chapter of life!

Closing was on Monday and Thursday was the Fourth of July. We had family and friends over to celebrate our nation’s independence but it was also the perfect excuse for taking a break from unpacking, cleaning, arranging, and rearranging. We’d been going non-stop for weeks getting ready to move and preparing for our daughter’s wedding, two days before closing. There had been a whirlwind of activity for weeks, all of it fun but we were also looking forward to the wind shifting and settling down. I was definitely ready to give “slower pace” a whirl!

The shifting happened for me the morning of the 4th!  I got up early to write before everyone came out to celebrate! As I waited for my coffee to brew, and being it was just the third day, I wasn’t sure where I would sit and write. I’d always had my Upper room in the other house (you can read about it in the last blog).

With coffee in hand and computer in lap, I settled in the loft area, our bedroom “suite”! (I still smile when I say we have a bedroom “suite”)! I was elated to have this quiet time with the Lord. I was writing about God surprises; how easy it is to miss them when we’re looking for THEM instead of HIM! Suddenly, Holy Spirit interrupted my thought process, whispering, “Stop and listen!”  I say it was a whisper but in the silence it seemed LOUD in my mind! I stopped writing and listened even though I didn’t know what I was supposed to hear. Then came the words, “Look out your window!”

photo (16)

When I looked out my window, I saw sky and trees and the words to a favorite song came to me: “Look out your window, see what you can see; Silence is broken by opening your door. Look out your window, see if you can see; all the wonders of life you’ve never seen before.”

Three days earlier while moving in, a friend mentioned being in the loft was like being in a tree house. So there I was sitting in my tree house (I mean loft) listening and looking! I heard and saw the effects of wind blowing through the trees. I watched branches sway and bow as strong gusts of wind powered through while leaves danced and twinkled between gusts. The sounds were equally intoxicating; soothing and powerful at the same time!

I was enjoying this interlude from writing and it was as though time stood still! Then I heard something more in my spirit: “This is your new upper room. The old was for healing, restoration, and celebration. This one is just as special but has new purpose to be unveiled over time.” These words caused tears of joy to spill over. I wasn’t expecting a new upper room; I just wanted to be in His presence.

I thought of the Bible verse, “And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28) His purpose! That’s what matters! We’d been through a lot of “things” knowing it would all work together because we love God! Now, the closings were over and the change had come. I needed to live in the change and embrace His purpose, actively waiting for His unveiling by listening and looking!

2267414931_ba06e9782dPerhaps you’re dealing with a closing of some sort in your life and it’s causing you to wonder what’s going on or what God is up to; wondering how you’re going to embrace the change; or wondering if things will ever be the same again. Jesus said “Most assuredly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep… I am the door. If anyone enters by Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture.” (John 10:7,9)

untitledNo matter what’s going on in your life, stop and listen, look out your window (literally and spiritually speaking) and open your door today! Jesus is your door! See what you can see! See Him! The silence, whether it’s monotony or craziness of life will break as you open your door and see all the wonders you’ve never seen before. You’ll see Jesus, whose name is “Wonderful”!

Isaiah 9:6 “For unto us a Child is born, unto us a Son is given; and the government will be upon His shoulder. And His Name will be called WONDERFUL, Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.”

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2013 in Hearing, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Look Out Your Window! Things Are About to Look Up!

  1. Lonnie West

    August 25, 2013 at 8:47 am

    Julie, I have tried to unsubscribe a few times without success. It has nothing to do with the quality of your blog. I’ve enjoyed what I’ve read, but find myself way behind, so am thinning out reading material. Would you be able to do something from your end? Thank you so much.   Blessings, Lonnie

    ________________________________

     
    • Julie Ann Marxhausen

      August 25, 2013 at 1:37 pm

      I have nothing to do with subscriptions. I would suggest you check with WordPress. I just push a button to post. That’s the extent of my interaction

      Sent from my iPhone

       

Leave a Reply

 
