RSS

Even When…

23 Sep

I was driving to work one day and tried calling a friend; no answer. I tried calling a daughter; no answer. I called on Jesus! Guess what? He answered! I started talking to Him about life; the turns He’s directed me to take, the turns I’ve taken without Him; the transitions He’s taken me through, the transitions I went through without Him; the mountains He chose for me to climb, the mountains I chose and climbed because I didn’t follow His lead; the valleys He led me into and the valleys I chose to go alone; the changes He’s made in me and the changes I tried to make!

It’s been an amazing journey so far…I can’t imagine it ever being less amazing…HOWEVER… I’m not going to lie…it’s always been hard!

Even when it’s hard, it’s still amazing because He’s always my One and Only! Even when I let Him and other people down…I know He is there to pick me up! Even when I don’t feel I can please Him or anyone else…I know He takes pleasure in me! And even when I can’t love enough…His love carries me.

This led me to write a poem. Now, I’m not a poet – and trust me…I know it! But maybe you’re in love with Jesus and even when everything else in life feels like anything but love, you still choose Jesus! Even when you try to meet people’s demands, needs and desires, you still let them down but you still choose to praise and trust Jesus! Whatever your “even when” happens to be…may this inspire you to take your seat with Him!

Ephesians 2:4-7 “But God, who is rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in trespasses, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved), and raised us up together, and made us sit together in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, that in the ages to come He might show the exceeding riches of His grace in His kindness toward us in Christ Jesus.”

Even when…

trustEven when I disappoint
Even when I reach a boiling or turning point;
I will trust in my Lord!

Even when I’m overcome with brokenness…
Even when life is full of hopelessness…
I choose to praise my Lord!

praiseEven when I feel deserted…
Even when my path is diverted…
I will devote my all to my Lord!

Even when I don’t understand all You allow…
Even when I watch loved ones breaking their vow…
I will look to my Lord!

Even when You feel so very far away…
Even when I can’t detect what You’re trying to say…
I will listen for my Lord!

Even when I’m in the lowest of valleys…
Even when I’m at a dead end or in deep and dark alleys…
I will lift my eyes to my Lord!

Even when I’m lonely or feel all alone…
Even when people only complain and they groan…
I will live for my Lord!

hopeEven when it seems all faith is gone…
Even when compromise is all around…
I will hope in my Lord!

Even when confusion grips tight to me…
Even when I hate what’s going on inside of me…
I will grab hold of my Lord!

graceEven when people may doubt my commitment…
Even when I can’t convince them I’m not close to indifferent…
I will declare, “My Lord’s grace is sufficient”!

Even when I see people turn from the truth…
Even when they’re looking for another bit of proof…
I will believe in my Lord!

Even when I feel completely forsaken…
Even when I’m overwhelmingly shaken…
I will awaken; come out of my stupor…
‘Cuz You hung on a cross and well…that’s super duper!

Even when all this happens to me;
Even when I can’t or won’t try to see…
I’ll gladly go through shouting, “You’ve set me free”!
You’ve been where I am…You’re here with me now…And with You dear Jesus I always will be!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 23, 2013 in Lifestyle, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Even When…

  1. Bonnie Hruby

    October 14, 2013 at 8:19 am

    You say your not a poet but you did a wonderful job. It really says a lot.

     

Leave a Reply

 
