RSS

Do the Inviting!

03 Jul

If you know Jesus as your personal Lord and Savior, you know He knows you intimately! That’s a GOOD thing! You know He is Master of your life; that too is a GOOD thing! You know He saved, saves, and will save you forever! That is also a very GOOD thing!

tumblr_m5sstkvaoc1r1o6z3o1_500All this knowledge of good things should really encourage us every day of our lives! AND…there is more! In Psalm 139 God captures our attention by revealing Himself as the Lord who searches and knows us inside and out. He knows when we sit and when we get up. He understands every thought flowing through our brains as well as every word we speak. He comprehends our daily walk and our need to lie down and rest. He is well acquainted with the way we do things. He protects and lays His hand on us!

Sooooo… Yes… He really is an amazing, intimate, passionate, involved God! AND… there is more! He is e4fd1e2e179c08d835dd028df8e5e5dbwith us from before the beginning to after the end! God not only knows everything about us but He is everywhere all at the same time! Not that we would want to escape Him, but if we did want to, we can’t! There is nowhere we go that He isn’t there!

flat,550x550,075,fPsalm 139:7-12 explains it this way: “Is there anyplace I can go to avoid Your Spirit? To be out of Your sight? If I climb to the sky, You’re there! If I go underground, You’re there! If I flew on morning’s wings to the far western horizon, You’d find me in a minute— You’re already there waiting! Then I said to myself, ‘Oh, He even sees me in the dark! At night I’m immersed in the light!’ It’s a fact: darkness isn’t dark to You; night and day, darkness and light, they’re all the same to You.” (The Message)

Good stuff right? So let’s see! We’ve declared God knows us VERY intimately; we’ve declared He is with us 24/7; AND still…there is more! In verses 13-16 we admit and profess His creative powers by forming us in our mother’s wombs. God’s eyes saw the substance of who we are even before He formed us into who we are!

psalm 139.17 cTHAT thought is amazing! AND yes… there is more! Not only did God think about us before He formed us but He thinks about us all the time. In fact, His thoughts are more numerous than the sand on the seashore! God truly has a lot of thinking going on! It is incredibly precious then, for us to think about God’s thoughts!

search me_tHere’s the thing! We can know and believe all this truth and still not live in it! To live in it, we need to participate in it! After knowing and acknowledging the truth that God searches and knows us, we must invite Him to search and know us! Psalm 139:23-24 say, “Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me, and know my anxieties; and see if there is any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”

It almost sounds like a no-brainer for us to ask God to search our hearts. But remember; we declare in the beginning of this Psalm we know the Lord HAS searched and known us! Why must we invite Him then to do what He has already done? Because, knowing He searches and then inviting Him to search are two different things! We need to make this no-brainer a yes-brainer! Yes, Lord! I know You search my heart! Yes, Lord I know You know me! Yes, Lord! I want You to search my heart! Yes Lord, I want You to know me! Yes, Lord, I invite You to search me and know me!

where-can-i-go-from-your-presenceThe Message Bible puts the invitation this way: “Investigate my life, O God, find out everything about me; Cross-examine and test me, get a clear picture of what I’m about; See for Yourself whether I’ve done anything wrong—then guide me on the road to eternal life.”

Hopefully you are connecting the knowing and the inviting! We already know God investigates our lives but in relationship with Him, we invite Him to do so! Our invitation makes His knowledge of us a huge “YES” in our brains AND in our hearts! Our invitation for the Lord to search involves “us” in this intimate relationship with God. Then we don’t think of ourselves as mere bystanders or spectators while He does all the work of searching! We don’t stand by watching and fearfully wondering what He might find! We become willing and eager participants; inviting Him to test us to find the yuck so He can lead us to eternal life now! Our invitation releases a desire in us for Him to have His way!

So…it’s like this! I can know my husband, or my children, or my friends love me! I can know they will be with me through thick and thin! I can know they know me inside and out and accept me just the way I am. But…inviting them to love me; to know me more; to be with me; to know me inside and out; to accept me…well, that makes a huge difference in our relationships. There is a trust developed and an intimacy formed through vulnerability; through a mere invitation for them to do and to be everything they already do and are!

Let today be the day you don’t just KNOW God searches and knows you, but invite Him to search and know you! It’s a decision you’ll never regret!

 
 

One response to “Do the Inviting!

  1. Merrilee Johnson

    July 21, 2014 at 7:29 am

    I always enjoy your blog Julie. You are very gifted in skilled in the things God has given to you.
    Thank you for sharing .

     

Leave a Reply

 
