RSS

God Will Lead You All the Way!

19 Aug

imagesEver have those times in life where one thing after another happens – good things, bad things, indifferent things? There is no consistency and nothing you can really count on? “Those times” have been consistent in my life for the past couple of years. I thought a time would come when there weren’t so many “things” popping onto my path; that I would reach a plateau; life would calm down and I would walk a level path without all the inclines and hills. While thinking those thoughts though, more big things happened.

There have certainly been scenic views on the journey; some stopped me abruptly and took my breath away by their beauty, others by their pain, all have brought tears. And then, just when I think I can breathe again, something else happens and I’m right back on the journey!

12_memory-verseFriends have suggested a vacation, time out, a get away, maybe just a day of fun with them. Just as I’m thinking what a great idea that would be, something else happens and I realize I can’t. Then it hits me, “This is my life. One thing after another.” And just as quickly my thinking changes to “Wait…this is His life in me.” Then I smile! The good things, the bad things, the indifferent things make up my life of inconsistency; of things I can’t count on! YAY! That’s what makes His life in me so very incredible. That’s what makes me vulnerable! That’s what makes me teachable! That’s what makes me humble! That’s what keeps me dependent on my All Powerful, All Consuming, and Almighty God!

images (2)One day, after having one more “thing” added to my journey of life I took a moment to step back in my mind and peruse the last couple of years. I was amazed at what I saw. Then, in my mind’s eye I looked just a little bit ahead at the path before me, hoping to be just as amazed. But what I saw were more inclines and hills in my immediate future. The cool thing though is I couldn’t and can’t see what the decline looks like; I can’t see what is beyond the hills. What I CAN see is the path – and that’s all I need to see! It’s always very good because Jesus leads me on the narrow come-follow-me-e1349918455591path; He leads me beside still waters; He leads me onto the deep waters; He says, “Come, follow Me!”

Now those three words from Jesus might appear to be an invitation – but for me, they are stronger than an invite; they are a command! If they weren’t – I would likely RSVP  “Will not be able to attend” to Him most days. I just told a friend, “I’m sure glad God has taught me to say “yes” to Him BEFORE I can see the whole picture because after I see the details of what I said “yes” to, I KNOW I would never have said “yes”.

One morning on this journey of life, after several “things” occurred one on top of the other, I opened God’s Word to read Deuteronomy 8. It was there I rediscovered the beauty of seeing Jesus’ invitation to follow Him as a command in my life; a command with a purpose.

“Every commandment which I command you today you must be careful to observe, that you may live and multiply, and go in and possess the land…And you shall remember that the Lord your God led you all the way… in the wilderness, to humble you and test you, to know what was in your heart, whether you would keep His commandments or not. So He humbled you…”

changeyourfocus2Right then and there I paused as Holy Spirit ministered this word deeply to my heart. All the things that happen; good, bad, and indifferent, are things that happen on this journey of faith for a purpose. His commandments keep us focused on Him and not the things, so we can live and multiply as we go in to possess.

“Going in” demands a careful observance of every commandment… THAT seems like pressure! But it’s not! All we need to do is remember the Lord our God led us ALL THE WAY, so He will lead us ALL THE WAY too! AND, He led and leads for a purpose! To humble us; to test us; to know what was in our hearts, whether we would keep His commandments or not.

That’s a great word of encouragement for us today! When things are happening one after another; good things, bad things, indifferent things – when there is no consistency and nothing you can count on – Praise the Lord! He is leading you ALL THE WAY with purpose! To humble, to test, and to know your heart! When Jesus says, “Come, follow Me”, just focus on coming to Jesus and following Him – Don’t focus on what’s coming! He WILL lead you ALL THE WAY! That’s a promise you can count on!

images (1)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 19, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment